February Transformation Ten Questions with Kirstin Snowball

Where do you think your biggest transformation occurred- physically or mentally, or both, and why?

Physically, but when I physically started to change, it became a mental transformation as well. The way you think definitely changes.

What are some of the heaviest realizations you had in the past 1, 3, 5 years that have helped shape you into who you are now?

That if I kept gaining weight that I would be a statistic. I wouldn’t be healthy for myself or my son, and that really motivated me to change.

When did you realize you had to make a positive change?

I went to the doctor and I was 1 point away from being considered obese. Also, when I was wearing a button up shirt and one of the buttons popped off. I felt uncomfortable in clothes, my energy level was down, and keeping up with my son was so important.

What do you think are the main obstacles people have when trying to make change?

Food, for me, was the biggest one – it was 80% food, and 20% exercise, and finding an exercise program that you love and that you WANT to show up for.

Describe your new lifestyle, and how it has transformed from what it was.

My demeanor and personality hasn’t changed, but I’m more open, and I don’t have to crop my pictures! Shopping anxiety is also gone; I’m able to try on clothes I wouldn’t have been able to before. Consistency and maintenance is key, and I constantly remind myself of that as I’m moving forward in my transformation.

Name 3 things that you find joy in.

Jackson, Jackson, Jackson – watching him, playing with him and being with him!

When you’re feeling “not into it,” what do you do to pull yourself out of it?

I tell myself that one day will make a difference – In November I started a ketosis program which forces me to keep up with my healthy habits and consistency. The recovery time for “falling off” that program is 3-5 days, so that way of thinking has spilled into things like exercising too.

What relationships do you think are crucial in supporting a person’s transformation?

Having people like Matt around open and available, as a resource for nutrition and fitness. The women I work out with keep me going as well – they make me want to work out and I think that’s so important. It’s personal training, with friends!

What are some exciting things happening now or upcoming for you?

No longer wearing the tankinis- sporting a bikini this summer!!!

Any words of advice for those struggling to make a transformative change?

For me it was that it seems like it’s going to take forever, but really you will start to see results after two weeks of sticking to it. First week was horrible, next week was easier, and then it becomes habit. After a month, I saw amazing results.

Keep plugging along- take it one rep at a time!!!

Leave a Reply

