Meet the Trainer – Matt Altobelli, Owner of Gruntz Fitness

By Jen McSorley

 

I am excited to share with you an interview with the owner of Gruntz Fitness, Matt Altobelli.  Here you will get an inside look at how Matt became involved in fitness and some great tips.

How did you first get into fitness?

Growing up I always played sports. I played baseball for 10 years, football, and hockey.  I didn’t discover my passion for fitness though until I decided to go into the Air Force. I then became much more disciplined at working out to prepare myself for a military life. While serving I became my squadrons Physical Training Leader (PTL) and would create workouts for the squadron to do. This is where I discovered that I also loved to teach others about fitness.

What is one thing you think separates those who get results and those who don’t?

Consistency. You don’t need a fad diet, or workout program, you just need to find out what your body needs, eat it, workout and repeat. Once you find something that is getting you results you need to stick with it. Becoming fit is a long and slow process for people who want to keep their results.

We live in a fast paced society, how do you get people to eat healthier and exercise when they say they don’t have time?

Preparation is key! Everyone is busy but there are still people who find the time to make it work. Prepping all your meals for the week on Sunday is a great way to make sure you aren’t wasting time cooking during the week. Its good for people who just need to grab and go.

Top tips for keeping motivated.

Give yourself a good month of being consistent. The first month is the hardest but if you can make it through and see results you will become addicted. Make it a habit, and set small milestones to reach with small rewards. NOT FOOD. For example you could say when I hit a certain weight or inches goal I’m going to buy myself those new shoes I have wanted. Stick to this to force yourself to get results, or walk around in old shoes!

Do you feel men and women should train differently?

Yes and no. There are programs out there that are designed to be beneficial to both men and woman. There are slight variations in training when it comes to strength. The training should be designed on an individual basis to meet that person’s goal anyways, so no two programs should look exactly the same.

Cardio or weight training?

If you have to pick one, then go with weight training. You will burn fat faster and increase your resting metabolic rate. Your body will need to burn more calories just having extra muscle. Cardio can actually reduce muscle mass if done excessively. A good program will have aspects of both.

Why should someone hire a personal trainer?

Accountability. Even I hire a trainer when I am seriously training for something, not because I don’t know what I am doing, but because it is better to have someone there to hold you accountable, and push you past your comfort zone while you are working out. It is important to hire a trainer who knows what they are talking about though so they can design the right program for you.

Leave a Reply

